Daily Devotional – Psalm 27

Psalm 27:1

27 OF DAVID.

1      The LORD is my light and my salvation;

whom shall I fear?

The LORD is the stronghold of my life;

of whom shall I be afraid?

I spent much of my day yesterday anxious and feeling out of sorts. I experienced a multitude of emotions ranging from intense pain and anger to complete happiness and joy. A challenging day.

Sadly, in the midst of this challenging day I lost sight a little of how God has been working in my life. Within moments I got so consumed with the hurt I was feeling that I lost sight of the Kingdom and the King. It took a gentle reminder from a loving daughter to help me focus my gaze again upward instead of inward by reminding me that my Father in Heaven is for me and is looking out for me.

Psalm 27 is really a life verse for me. It is often where I run in times of turmoil. I finally ran to it this morning and was met by the truth and love of my God. It reminds me that there is always a place to go in times of need. It reminds me that there is never a reason to feel alone because even in the darkest places in our minds and the deepest places in our hearts God is able to shelter us in His love.

Life is not without adversity and following Jesus is not without its share of trials and tribulations. Jesus promised that it would be this way; that in following Him the earthly result would not always seem all that rewarding; that the people we care about and serve will sometimes hurt us.

So what’s the application? I think for me Psalm 27 reminds me that my relationship with God is one of pure dependence.  He is my rock and He is my shelter. My job is to seek Him, do what He tells me to do, and know that in all my activities He is there looking out for me.

He is first and all.

Heavenly Father, you are mighty and you are good.  Thank you for your protection and comfort. Forgive us when we look inward instead of upward. Father help us to turn to you not only in times of trial but also in times peace. Father, may our prayer echo the prayer of David your servant:

One thing have I asked of the LORD,

that will I seek after:

that I may dwell in the house of the LORD

all the days of my life,

to gaze upon the beauty of the LORD

and to inquire in his temple.

Let us in inquire in your temple. In Jesus name, Amen.

2 thoughts on “Daily Devotional – Psalm 27

  1. Pingback: Daily Devotional – Psalm 27 (via Kingdom Bard) « Old Brush Arbors Weblog

  2. Pingback: In case you’re wondering…

Leave a Reply

