Reject Sin

I woke up the other day with the phrase “reject sin” floating in my mind. There are a couple temptations that it seems I have to deal with on an almost daily basis. There are times where I am really good about resisting these temptations and there are other times when I give into them. As I laid in bed thinking about what it means to reject sin I started looking up scriptures that I could use to remind myself in times of temptation what my relationship to sin really is and how God has provided a way for me to deal with the temptations I face. Here are the scriptures that came to mind, plus one that I have been meditating on this week along with a few propositional statements for rejecting sin.

I will reject sin because God’s desire is for me to be holy like He is holy.

1 Peter 1:14-16

14 As obedient children, do not be conformed to the passions of your former ignorance, 15 but as he who called you is holy, you also be holy in all your conduct, 16 since it is written, “You shall be holy, for I am holy.”

I will reject sin because Jesus was tempted in every way and did not sin and the same Spirit that dwelt in Jesus empowering Him not to sin dwells in me also.

Hebrews 4:15

15 For we do not have a high priest who is unable to sympathize with our weaknesses, but one who in every respect has been tempted as we are, yet without sin.

Romans 8:11

11 If the Spirit of him who raised Jesus from the dead dwells in you, he who raised Christ Jesus from the dead will also give life to your mortal bodies through his Spirit who dwells in you.

I will reject sin because God has provided a way for me to resist every temptation.

I Corinthians 10:13

13 No temptation has overtaken you that is not common to man. God is faithful, and he will not let you be tempted beyond your ability, but with the temptation he will also provide the way of escape, that you may be able to endure it.

A practical way God has provided me for rejecting sin is storing His Word, that is the Bible, in my heart and mind.

Psalm 119:11

11 I have stored up your word in my heart, that I might not sin against you.

I hope these scriptures are helpful. I would appreciate any feedback or comments from you guys on what you do when faced with temptation. Thanks for reading.

Father, thank you for adoption into your family. I pray as the Lord Jesus did that you would “lead us not into temptation, but deliver us from evil”. Father I pray that your Word would penetrate my heart and that in times of temptation it would be a light that directs me away from my corrupted desires and toward your Spirit dwelling in me. I offer you praise. In the name Jesus, Amen.

6 thoughts on “Reject Sin

  1. Good word brother. Like you I think one practical way is to store God’s Word in my heart. Giving God praise for everything that comes my way is another one for me. Even though this can be difficult, I find that the moment I stop praising my Creator for my circumstances is when the enemy starts tempting.

    My daughter went through some pretty traumatic junk last year and for quite some time she was battling her thoughts. She and I came up with the idea that anytime one of these thoughts would form she would start to sing Jesus Loves Me. The idea was that Satan can’t stand the name of Jesus and he would have to leave her alone. It wasn’t long before the thoughts weren’t even coming to her any more!! Works for adults too. Satan is no match for Jesus. We just have to keep our Savior our #1 priority!!

    Thanks for the good word this morning.

  2. Good post Bro! I agree with you guys about storing God’s Word in your heart. This is how Jesus resisted Satan in the wilderness. Thanks you two for keeping me inspired and lifted up! We serve an awesome God!

    • Thanks for the comment bro! I think you hit a key point and that is we need each to keep going. I know some of my worst times for giving in is when I feel alone and isolated.

  3. Great post…
    I think it’s safe to say we all struggle with temptation and as we become better with one area of sin, and our hearts are cleansed, we become convicted of other sins that we were blind to. I can’t imagine doing things I once did, just as back then I couldn’t have imagined feeling convicted for things I do today. As long as we are on Earth we will never obtain holiness that compares to God’s. So we must be thankful for grace for without grace we would all be bound for eternal torment.

    • Thanks for the comment Jim. I think you are right on. We have to rest in the grace of God and remember that its is not our “good works” that keep us right with the Father but rather it is the Father acceptance of the sacrifice of Jesus and us in Jesus that reconciles us.

Leave a Reply

