I Knew You

Jeremiah 1:4-9

 

4 The word of the LORD came to me, saying,


5
“Before I formed you in the womb I knew you,
       before you were born I set you apart;
       I appointed you as a prophet to the nations.”

 6 “Ah, Sovereign LORD,” I said, “I do not know how to speak; I am only a child.”

 7 But the LORD said to me, “Do not say, ‘I am only a child.’ You must go to everyone I send you to and say whatever I command you. 8 Do not be afraid of them, for I am with you and will rescue you,” declares the LORD.

 9 Then the LORD reached out his hand and touched my mouth and said to me, “Now, I have put my words in your mouth.

 

This was my devotional reading for yesterday. The main idea here is that God knew us before we were even formed in the womb. It speaks to how valuable we are to God and how His love for us transcends the boundaries of physical existence. It’s a heavy thought for sure but the take away is that every human being has intrinsic value due to the fact that before our existence God was mindful of us and providentially created us for a purpose.

The more I am able to grasp this idea of God’s mindfulness of humanity the more I understand Matthew 22:36-39. In this passage Jesus is being questioned as to what the greatest commandment is. He tells the Pharisees that the greatest commandment is to “Love the Lord your God with all your heart and mind (v. 37)”. Additionally, Jesus says that after loving God we should love our neighbor as we love ourselves (v. 39).  To me the concept of love is based on the ideal that the object of love has value. We are challenged to love God because He created us and found value in His creation and loved us first. Consequentially, we are therefore challenged to love each other precisely because God created us and what God finds valuable we should also.

I struggle sometimes to remember the value God places on us and the commandment of Jesus to love. I am truly sorry for anyone I have hurt because of personal selfishness and short-sightedness and ask for forgiveness. I am thankful for the grace of God and the sacrifice of Jesus and all other aspects of our Creator that demonstrates His love for us. My hope and prayer is that by God’s grace I would learn to value humanity like He does and to love only the way he can empower me to do.

Peace and Grace.

Tony

2 thoughts on “I Knew You

  1. Great Blog Bro..Your right; we too often get caught up in our own deal and forget about loving others as Jesus loved us. This love walk is so awesome and makes life a whole lot easier. Thanks for these thoughts. You have truely been an inspiration to me..I look forward to seeing you next weekend and having some great fellowship..I love you Bro!

  2. It is easy to think that we are nothing to God because we have no use for Him. He is the creator of the earth, and we are but fragile humans. Thought we may seem small, we are such a big deal to God! And I think that it’s great to know so!! I love your blog so far!! =D It’s really refreshing, insightful, and thought provoking: very blogesque. Can’t wait for the other 77 lol. I love ya!

Leave a Reply

