Have I done enough good stuff in my life to get me into heaven?

I think many of us trying to figure out our faith and what we believe have struggled with this question. Does the good outweigh the bad? I know from my own perspective that is how I have judged people before so it seems logical that’s how it probably works with God. The underlying question here is really what does it take to make it into heaven? What do I have to do? This a question that has been asked for ages.

This past Sunday at Green Hills Church here in Nashville this question was addressed in part 8 of their “Believe” series. You can download a mp3 of the message here (right-click, then Save-As to download or just left-click it and it will play in your default media player). I would encourage anyone who struggles with this question to check it out.

So how do you answer the question? What must I do to make it to heaven?

Peace and Grace.

Tony

3 thoughts on “Have I done enough good stuff in my life to get me into heaven?

  1. Good thoughts to ponder my Brother!,

    If we believe the Gospel of Oprah then I say yes, good works will guarantee our names to be written down in the book of life. But we all know that is not the case. Of course we know in John 14:6 Jesus says “I am the way, the truth, and the life: no man cometh unto the father, but by me”

    Jesus also tells us in John 6:47 “Truly, Truly, I say to you, He that believeth in me hath everlasting life”.

    So we know that the only way to the Father is through the Son. So what about the question of good works?

    In James 2:26 we are told “for just as the body without the spirit is dead, so also faith without works is dead”

    So does that mean not only do we need to believe (have faith) but we also need to have good works? Well in James 2:21 the author talks about how Abraham was justified by works when he offered Isaac his son on the altar. Then verse 22 states “You see that faith was active together with his works, and by works, faith was perfected”. And then in verse 24 “You see that a man is justified by works and not faith alone”

    Wow! That is a lot to think about. I feel that as a follower of Christ that I am naturally inclined to do good works and walk in the spirit of love. I found this quote on a Christian website that I think sums it up.

    “Salvation is a free gift of God to be received, not earned. The works that one does once he or she is saved represent three things: the evidence of one’s salvation; the love that one has for Christ that is a reflection of salvation; and the investment one is making into eternity as a result of that salvation”.

    Bro thanks for the great topic! I thought at first it would be any easy question to answer, but I have had to do a little research, which is always a great way to learn. I love you Bro..

    Chris

Leave a Reply

