Why I Vote

ballotboxToday is Election Day in the United States. Today Americans will decide who will hold the highest office in the land for the next 4 years. It has been a passionate and contentious campaign. I am confident that regardless of the outcome tomorrow there will be groups who are applauding a new day for America and others who are prophesying her downfall.

 The big question for me becomes, how does this election and American politics in general affect me as a Christian? Stated another way, how emotionally involved should I be in the outcome of this election?  Honestly, I don’t think I should be emotionally involved in this process at all. I have heard words like hope, peace, security, happiness, freedom, and reconciliation all bantered around by the various campaigns with each side making promises that their side would give us these things. Amazingly in the context of how often politicians keep their promises the people including Christians are buying the rhetoric. I think placing our hopes on the promises of politicians borders on idolatry. We are made to worship, and God commands us to worship Him alone. God tells us that hope, peace, security, freedom, and reconciliation come from Him alone.  

All this being said, what is the Christian obligation to the electoral process? For me, I vote. I submit to the laws of the land and exercise her associated freedoms. I recognize the many sacrifices of the Americans before me who have given their lives so that American freedom would endure. However, when I am doing these things I am always mindful of another sacrifice. That is the sacrifice of Jesus, who gave His life willingly to usher in a permanent kingdom, the Kingdom of Heaven, and to allow me to be reconciled to the Father so that my hope, peace, security, happiness, freedom, and reconciliation would not rest on people or ideas or citizenships that will ultimately pass away but rather will rest on the One who made me.

Go Vote! Worship God!

Peace and Blessings.

Tony

4 thoughts on “Why I Vote

  1. Good point my Brother. I think we should place our faith and hope in our Lord and Savior. We must remember that God is in control. To think otherwise would be a total lack of Faith. I have to admit that I have been drinking the “Kool-Aid” so to speak, and I have to remind myself like you reminded me this morning to think of the bigger picture, which for me is that Gods will to be done. Our Father has a plan for us all, and for me personally his plan has worked out great! Too often we think we have to take control of a situation that God has already been working on. If we want to be Biblical about it we have to follow Romans 13:1-5
    “1 Let every person be subject to the governing authorities. For there is no authority except from God, and those that exist have been instituted by God. 2 Therefore whoever resists the authorities resists what God has appointed, and those who resist will incur judgment. 3 For rulers are not a terror to good conduct, but to bad. Would you have no fear of the one who is in authority? Then do what is good, and you will receive his approval, 4 for he is God’s servant for your good. But if you do wrong, be afraid, for he does not bear the sword in vain. For he is the servant of God, an avenger who carries out God’s wrath on the wrongdoer. 5 Therefore one must be in subjection, not only to avoid God’s wrath but also for the sake of conscience.”

    Bro, you have delivered another great thought provoking blog that has made us all realize who really is in charge of our lives. Thanks.. Love ya man,

    Chris

  2. Tony,
    I believe it is one’s duty to vote and since God has providence in all things we should pray for wisdom before casting our ballot and pray for our country and leaders often that God’s will be done. As you say, we should not worship our leaders, as that would be idolatry but we must have faith that they will serve dutifully as there are times they will not be able to reveal there plans to us, for various reasons. We elect them to be about the business of running the country so we don’t have to spend our time on every issue. This gives us the time to worship the Lord and to help build His kingdom here on Earth.

    Lord, you are great and merciful; please hear our prayer for we are a sinful people. We give thanks that we have the freedom to choice our leaders, please give us the wisdom to know that you are God and to make choices that glorify your name. Make our leaders wise and let your will be done in this country and around the world. It is in the beautiful name of Jesus that we pray.
    Amen

Leave a Reply

