How Deep the Father’s Love

Our worship at church is contemporary with a praise band setup using a mix of contemporary “Chris Tomlin” type worship songs and modernized versions of classic hymns. Recently we have been doing this song called “How deep the Father’s love.”  I kind of thought that this was an older hymn but I found out it actually was written recently. This song really brings home for me the power and meaning of the Cross, so I wanted to share the lyrics here:

HOW DEEP THE FATHER’S LOVE
by Stuart Townend, he explains his thoughts on this song
here.

How deep the Father’s love for us
How vast beyond all measure
That he should give his only son
To make a wretch his treasure
How great the pain of searing loss
The Father turned his face away
As wounds, which mar the chosen one
Bring many sons to glory

Behold the man up a cross
My sin upon his shoulders
Ashamed, I hear my mocking voice
Call out among the scoffers
It was my sin that held him there
Until it was accomplished
His dying breath has brought me life
I know that it is finished

I will not boast in anything
No gifts, no power, no wisdom
But I will boast in Jesus Christ
His death and resurrection
Why should I gain from his reward?
I cannot give an answer
But this I know with all my heart
His wounds have paid my ransom

I feel that sometimes I get way too caught up in what is happening to me personally. At times I am acutely aware of who is making me happy and who is making me sad. I know who I feel blessed by and who I feel offended by. This song reminds me that I am the one who is offensive. It challenges me to try and single out any quality in myself that is not somehow tainted by selfishness and sin. The question “why should I gain from his reward” becomes a valid question to me.

What’s the take away? For me the take away is that there is Good News!

How deep is the Father’s love for us? Deep enough to provide a way home, deep enough to love those whose sin makes them unworthy of love, and deep enough to endure the torture of a cross for so I can be loved again! Deep enough!

What songs really move you?

Peace and Grace.

Tony

5 thoughts on “How Deep the Father’s Love

  1. Con Manos Vacias
    it’s a Spanish song the refrain is
    Usa Mis Manos Senor
    which literally translates to
    Use my Hands Lord

    As best as I can understand (since I don’t speak Spanish), The song says

    I come with empty hands,
    nothing of value,
    I can not impress,
    I can give you my broken heart
    Take it good Lord and fix it

    I put my life to Your service
    It isn’t much but you can fill my
    Empty hands with power and love
    Use my hands Lord…

    This just hits home since as a sinner I am of no value to the Lord until redeemed by the blood of Christ after which he does not obligate me to serve. Instead he wants us to serve willingly out of the love he gave us and personally after being saved I was filled with a longing to serve. It was hard for me to understand at first and at times still is…

  2. Tony,
    I have sat back and wanted to be a “consumer” in church and have realized that I am the problem. I need to bring it to God. Press on brotehr.
    Louie @ Swervechurch.wordpress.com

  3. Bro,

    There are a couple of songs that really move me, one is by Greg Long called “ In the Waiting” Here are some of the lyrics

    Pain
    The gift nobody longs for, still it comes
    And somehow leaves us stronger
    When it’s gone away

    Pray
    I try and pray for Your will to be done
    But I confess it’s never fast enough for me

    It seems
    the hardest part is waiting on You
    When what I really want
    Is just to see Your hand move

    I want a peace beyond my understanding
    I want to feel it fall like rain
    In the middle of my hurting
    I want to feel Your arms as they surround me
    And let me know that it’s okay
    To be here in this place
    Resting in the peace that only comes
    In the waiting

    Time
    Time to let it go and just believe
    Trusting in what no one else but You can see

    Free
    Freedom from the fears that close me in
    When I can’t get beyond where I have been, but then

    Again
    The silence doesn’t mean that I’m alone
    As long as I can hear
    That I am still Your own

    Another Song is the Classic “How great Thou Art” or Chris Tomlin “Famous one” It all depends on what kind of mood I am in. “Worthy is the Lamb” is another one that just grabs me and fills me with the Holy Spirit. It’s so awesome to be able worship our Father with music and be able to sing praises to him. Good post Bro..Love ya

Leave a Reply

