Did You See a Big Pile of My Stuff?

I came across a few verses in Luke the other day that have me puzzled.

Luke 5:8-11

8 But when Simon Peter saw it, he fell down at Jesus’ knees, saying, “Depart from me, for I am a sinful man, O Lord.” 9 For he and all who were with him were astonished at the catch of fish that they had taken, 10 and so also were James and John, sons of Zebedee, who were partners with Simon. And Jesus said to Simon, “Do not be afraid; from now on you will be catching men.” 11 And when they had brought their boats to land, they left everything and followed him. (ESV, emphasis mine)

and….

Luke 5:27-28

27 After this he went out and saw a tax collector named Levi, sitting at the tax booth. And he said to him, “Follow me.” 28 And leaving everything, he rose and followed him. (ESV, emphasis mine)

The puzzle for me is that I actually know where my stuff is. It’s still at my house. I guess the easy out is to say that the thing we leave behind is our happiness about sinning. That if we do it right we leave behind the trappings of this world and look to the Kingdom. I just don’t feel like that what Luke is writing about here. Something happened to these guys in the moment Jesus called them and they left it all because of His calling. I’m sure this still happens, but I am confident that it’s in the minority instead of the majority. So the question I am asking myself, and I hope all you would chime in also:

Does following Christ require us to leave anything behind these days or was that just something for the original disciples?

Grace and Peace.

Tony

4 thoughts on “Did You See a Big Pile of My Stuff?

  1. Man, that’s a good question. Or questions.

    In short, I don’t know. But a couple thoughts: I’m not sure this story means anything other than that’s what Jesus called these guys to do, right then and there.

    Doesn’t mean Jesus doesn’t still do that, but I think He deals with us in different contexts.

    Without question, we are asked to leave “everything” behind in a sense — that being that “everything” is our own agenda. There is only one authority, and God will not share our loyalties with a rival.

    …just a couple random thoughts…

  2. Matthew 4:17 (ESV)
    From that time Jesus began to preach, saying, “Repent, for the kingdom of heaven is at hand.”

    OK so what does ‘repent’ mean? According to Merriam-Webster it means to turn from sin and dedicate oneself to the amendment of one’s life

    And back to the dictionary again for ‘Amendment’ = the act of ‘amending’ = to change or modify for the better

    Therefore repent means, to turn from sin and dedicate oneself to the act of changing or modifying one’s life for the better.

    So what we are being told to leave behind depends on what we dedicated our lives to before we repented. The amendment of one’s life is also a process not an instantaneous transition which is different than what happened to the apostles. Each of us is in the process then of leaving behind those things that stand between us and God.

  3. Bro,

    I think we need to remember the guys were probally teenagers and didn’t have the stuff we have today. I am also sure they had faith that Jesus would take care of all thier needs. Good question. I think it would be hard for the adverage Joe to just leave everything to follow someone, unless of course it was the Messiah. Good post man. Love ya Bro

  4. oh man….I have a lot of stuff…..most of which my fingers are wrapped around…..I have a hard time sometimes even leaving my job, my computer, my habits……to follow Jesus….

    Cool stuff. Great insight.

Leave a Reply

