Daily Devotional – I would like to stay but…

Luke 4:42-43

42And when it was day, he departed and went into a desolate place. And the people sought him and came to him, and would have kept him from leaving them,

43but he said to them, “I must preach the good news of the kingdom of God to the other towns as well; for I was sent for this purpose.”

(Synagogue at Capernaum)

Reading these verses the other day I was struck at how focused Jesus was on the mission that the Father had given Him. I know that I am sometimes guilty of thinking if I just did this certain thing or that certain thing at my job I would rise to a position where people would honor me and I could kinda just rest on my  laurels. The mere fact that there is a phrase “rest on your laurels” testifies that I’m not the first with this idea, but not so for Jesus.

At first contemplation my take away from these verses was that we need to be focused on completing the mission God has given us. But as I have chewed these verses a bit more I realize that I am very guilty of not taking the good news of the kingdom of God to the next town. How many times has someone crossed my path that really needed to hear the good news of Jesus where I just rested in my own salvation and remained quiet? Have I become complacent in my position as one who is forgiven? Jesus himself told us to go and make disciples. Right?

Heavenly Father, thank you for your purpose and your plan. Thank you for your salvation and your reconciliation. Forgive me Father where I have fallen short. I pray God that you would open my eyes to the opportunities around me to proclaim your goodness and to herald the glory of your Kingdom. Father make me bold in your mission and empower me to do your will. I pray these things in Jesus name. Amen

One thought on “Daily Devotional – I would like to stay but…

  1. amen to that. we are all guilty.

    Act 20:24 But none of these things move me, neither count I my life dear unto myself, so that I might finish my course with joy, and the ministry, which I have received of the Lord Jesus, to testify the gospel of the grace of God.

Leave a Reply

