Daily Devotional – Where did that Come From?

2 Timothy 2:15 (ESV)

15Do your best to present yourself to God as one approved, a worker who has no need to be ashamed, rightly handling the word of truth.

Acts 17:10-12 (ESV, emphasis mine)

10The brethren immediately sent Paul and Silas away by night to Berea, and when they arrived, they went into the synagogue of the Jews.

11Now these were more noble-minded than those in Thessalonica, for they received the word with great eagerness, examining the Scriptures daily to see whether these things were so.

1 Peter 3:15 (ESV, emphasis mine)

12Therefore many of them believed, along with a number of prominent Greek women and men.

 15but in your hearts honor Christ the Lord as holy, always being prepared to make a defense to anyone who asks you for a reason for the hope that is in you; yet do it with gentleness and respect,

  

In in a Bible study last week a friend of mine was asking about angels and demons. I explained to him what I knew but I could not readily point him to spot in the Scripture for further study. I have been experiencing this a lot lately. For example, many times I when I share with people about Jesus I use the kingdom language that Jesus and the New Testament writers used. I will often say that Jews were waiting for a king to come physically in the manner of king David and liberate them from the oppression of foreign occupation. Again I struggle to point to exactly where in the scriptures this kind of idea is laid out. I am left wondering sometimes if what I am saying is based on the teachings of others, sermons I have heard, conjecture, or hopefully the Bible.

Another aspect in this discussion is the role of the Holy Spirit in our speaking, in Luke 12:11-12 (ESV, emphasis mine) Jesus tells us:

11And when they bring you before the synagogues and the rulers and the authorities, do not be anxious about how you should defend yourself or what you should say, 12for the Holy Spirit will teach you in that very hour what you ought to say.

Jesus is telling us here that there will be times where when we are talking about our faith that the Holy Spirit will lead us and guide us in our conversations. I know from personal experience there are times when I have said things and I wasn’t completely sure from where I knew them.

So what is the application? Looking at the Scriptures above for me the application is to study the Scriptures more so that I may more fully grasp God’s revelation to us and that I may help point others to specific places in the Word when they have questions. I have never been great at memorizing Scripture but I definitely see the benefit of it. I think a dual application would be to go deeper in prayer to really press into the Spirit so that when the Spirit speaks through me I will recognize it as such and allow the Spirit’s truth to flow from me without imposing my own filter of speculation or conjecture.

What about you all? How do you know what you know?

Heavenly Father, thank you God that you left us instructions and truth in the form of written word. Thank you that you have not left us to wander around speculating about who you are and about your Kingdom. Thank you Holy Spirit for taking up residence in us and speaking for us in times when we cannot speak well for ourselves. Forgive me Father for the times where I have not spent time mining the deep riches of your Word. I pray Father that would empower us today to be like those in Berea who sought you in your Word so that we will know when it comes to you and your Kingdom, what the truth is. Father I pray these things in Jesus name. Amen. 

 

2 thoughts on “Daily Devotional – Where did that Come From?

  1. i know exactly what you are talking about! a person asked me about theophanies in the OT once and i went to passages i *thought* showed them. however, when i went to the passage i had been taught all my life told about Jacob wrestling with an angel, and it DIDN’T say that. it said he wrestled with a MAN. wow, talk about feeling like you got kicked in the gut. so then i went to the passage where i’d been taught God sent the angel of death to slay the firstborn in egypt. again, it DIDN’T say that! it said God Himself would slay the firstborn. after that I NEVER assumed i knew what a passage taught, i ALWAYS look it up before i start teaching. I also stress to my ladies in Bible studies to go to a passage putting out of mind everything you’ve ever been taught or heard and come to your own conclusions led by the Spirit.

Leave a Reply

