Daily Devotional – The Devil Made Me Do It!

1 Corinthians 10:13 (ESV)

No temptation has overtaken you that is not common to man. God is faithful, and he will not let you be tempted beyond your ability, but with the temptation he will also provide the way of escape, that you may be able to endure it.

 

It can not be overstated enough how destructive sin is in the life of a Christian. I know for me that the times I have  felt the most unstable or just downright disconnected from my relationship with Jesus  has been the result of willful sinning on my part. I know that many times when I have given into temptation I always look for a way to justify my transgressions. It is really kind of silly to think that I could come up with a good excuse to submit to the Father for my willful  disobedience, but yet I try. “I sinned because I was tired”. “I sinned because I was sad”. Better yet, “I sinned because the devil made me do it!” 

I like the last one the best. If the devil is causing me to sin, how can it be my fault?

Of course the Bible tells a different story. While it my be true that the evil one tempts us, he doesn’t make us do anything.

Just look at the Scripture above.

How often do we forget in the moment of temptation that “God is faithful”, and that “he will  also provide a way of escape”? 

How often in the moment of temptation do we forget that somewhere in that moment God is providing a way out?

How often do we forget that Jesus hung a cross and bled so that we can say no?

How often do we forget that the Spirit of God is dwelling in us to protect from the schemes of the evil one?

How often do we forget the cry of Jesus in the garden to the Father. “Not my will, but your will be done”.

Heavenly Father, thank you for faithfulness. Thank you that in every trial you provide a way to overcome. Thank you Father that you love us and that your desire is that we love you back in word and action. Father, forgive us where we have been faithless. Forgive us for willfully sinning when you provide a way for us to resist. Father may your Kingdom come and may your light shine bright in this dark world. Protect us and guide us. We love you Father and it is in Jesus’ name we pray. Amen.

3 thoughts on “Daily Devotional – The Devil Made Me Do It!

Leave a Reply

