Daily Devotional – Most Excellent Theophilus

I just started reading Acts this morning and I was reminded of the affinity I have for Luke and the two books of the Bible that he authored. The Bible and church history teach us that Luke was a physician who traveled with the Apostle Paul on part of his missionary journeys. The thing I really enjoy about Luke’s books are they were purposed to a be a report back to Theophilus. The Bible doesn’t go into great detail about the identify of Theophilus but it does reveal that Theophilus had been taught the message of the Gospel and that Luke wanted to give an accurate account to him so that he would have certainty of the things he had been taught.

I think I like Luke also because his circumstances weren’t all that different from ours. I think like Luke we are challenged to give an accurate account of what we have been taught. I know from my own personal experiences many of the people I talk to about Jesus have many questions about the accuracy and certainty of the message. I think that because Christianity and the church have been such a prevalent part of western culture for more than 2000 years that it is easy for the line between history, church tradition, and the truth to blur.  I think our challenge is the same as Luke’s; to present an accurate account of the Gospel of Jesus to those who need to know Him.

I would be remiss if I did not share some of Luke’s writing. This section is from the first chapter of Acts. I like how right in the beginning of his dialogue with Theophilus, Luke goes to the heart of the matter; The Risen Christ.

Acts 1:3

3 He presented himself alive to them after his suffering by many proofs, appearing to them during forty days and speaking about the kingdom of God.

I know just reading this verse this morning was encouraging to me.

So, who is your Theophilus? Are you able to give an accurate account of the Gospel?

Heavenly Father, thank you Lord for your Word. Father, thank you for moving in men to record your story for our consumption so many years removed from the events. Father, I pray that you would lead us by the Holy Spirit to know with accuracy the account of your Gospel. Father, please empower us today to share your truth with others. Help us be diligent in our studies and in our fellowship and communion with you. Thank you for your grace and mercy. I pray in Jesus name. Amen.

7 thoughts on “Daily Devotional – Most Excellent Theophilus

  1. Bro,
    Good post as usual! I think you are dead on with the “accurate account of the Gospel”. I feel in today’s society the Gospel is so diluted with false doctrine and misinterpretations that it’s almost impossible for the non believer to hear the true message of God’s love for us and his plan for our salvation. Jesus tells his Jewish believers in John 8:31-32 NIV “if you hold to my teaching, you are really my disciples. Then you will know the truth and the truth will set you free” Jesus also says in John 14:6 ESV “I am the way, and the truth, and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.” For me that message can’t get any clearer than that but then again you have a lot of people out there trying to put their own spin on salvation or add rules you need to follow to be a “true Christian” The apostle Paul warns us against false teaching as well in 1 Timothy 1:3-7 ESV
    “As I urged you when I was going to Macedonia, remain at Ephesus so that you may charge certain persons not to teach any different doctrine, 4nor to devote themselves to myths and endless genealogies, which promote speculations rather than the stewardship from God that is by faith. The aim of our charge is love that issues from a pure heart and a good conscience and a sincere faith. 6Certain persons, by swerving from these, have wandered away into vain discussion, 7desiring to be teachers of the law, without understanding either what they are saying or the things about which they make confident assertions. Again it’s our job to teach the truth about the “Truth”.. good stuff my Brother!

    • I think that is why we really need to commit ourselves to the Word. Many times we just repeat other things we have heard opposed to processing the Word and allowing the Holy Spirit to give us revelation. Thanks for the comment bro!

  2. Good Morning: I have never done any blogging, but felt it might help to connect with some people who could help me with bible study. I too am studying Acts. I have spent a lot of time on this book over the years and used many commentaries. Right now I am going through “the Apostle: the Life of Paul” by John Pollock for background material. I want to “give an accurate account of the Gospel” as you say. I hope you will continue with Acts. I look forward to read your thoughts. Victoria

  3. Hi: I was gone a few weeks due to hurricane Alex. I was in Texas and couldn’t get back home to Mexico due to the road conditions. Arrived safely, my home o.k. except for lots of mildew on the outside walls. (Thanks to God for his protection). Was hoping to find some new comments here. Still in Acts? I have been researching the birthplace of Paul – Tarsus.
    Especially the religion and culture of that place where he grew up. It is really an eye-opener. It helps you understand his fierce opposition to Christianity, which he considered a threat to the purity of Judaism. I sympathize with him. Although he was ignorant and wrong – his zeal was born out of a passionate love for his God. We who know truth must be likewise passionate, committed and persistent in “contending for the faith”. We live in an age of deception with false cults aggressively preaching their “doctrines of devils”. How very important it is to know and understand the scriptures. Well, enough. Don’t mean to preach at you. Victoria

  4. Good Morning:
    I love your new improved website. Easier for a new blogger. I appreciate Chelle’s soap devotions. You three are brothers and sister? How neat!! Victoria

Leave a Reply

