Daily Devotional – A Gentle Rebuke

Luke 22:41-42 (ESV)

41 And he withdrew from them about a stone’s throw, and knelt down and prayed, 42 saying, “Father, if you are willing, remove this cup from me. Nevertheless, not my will, but yours, be done.”

This weekend in a moment of busyness I responded to a request from my 11 son in a way that I thought would teach him something about relationship which has over the last day taught me something.

The scenario was this. We had a large group of family over and I was working on getting food grilled for lunch. I was out on the porch and my son came out asking if he could use my computer to play a game.  Mind you this is not an uncommon request, but in that moment I was a little offended that my 11 year was so needy and so unaware of the bigger picture. Not being cross or short with him, I said,  “I will get this for you, but can’t you see that Daddy is very busy trying to help all these other people be able to eat?” I said, “It would be nice if every conversation we had wasn’t based on me doing something for you but occasionally it would be nice if maybe you were just concerned about how I was doing.” I did my best to explain to him that it was the give and take between each other in relationship that really builds solid and lasting connections. I thought my teaching was pretty profound until I was gently nudged by the Spirit to answer it for myself.

As I finished grilling I found myself thinking do I ever check in with the Father just to be concerned with how He is doing or is it usually just about me?

The thing I have been really challenged with lately is how in such a busy time do I really get to know the Father? How do I become more concerned about His story and His Kingdom. How do I let go of my story and my kingdom? How do I get to the place of Jesus where I say not my will but the will of the Father?

I don’t really have a good application this morning. Honestly, I really could use some help and guidance in the area of cultivating a deeper relationship with the Father.

I have also been chewing on this A.W. Tozer quote from his book, “The Pursuit of God”.

We have almost forgotten that God is a Person and, as such, can be cultivated as any person can. It is inherent in personality to be able to know other personalities, but full knowledge of one personality by another cannot be achieved in one encounter. It is only after long and loving mental intercourse that the full possibilities of both can be explored.

I really do need some help here. How do you guys cultivate a deeper relationship with the Father?

Heavenly Father, as deep calls to deep, I long to know you better. I pray God that my focus would be on you alone and on the completion of your work. Thank you that you allow me to bring my own personal needs to you. Please forgive me where looking for answers to those needs have  taken the place of real communion  and fellowship with You. Thank you for your grace and your Fatherhood. Please allow me to know you better. In Jesus name, Amen.

5 thoughts on “Daily Devotional – A Gentle Rebuke

  1. Very thought provoking. Giving up self and letting someone else have complete control in any relationship is a difficult thing for any human being, especially me. Letting go of every thing that we believe is important and living and working for the Kingdom is not an easy task. In this world we live in, it seems so difficult sometimes to balance work, home, and God. Sad thing is the order I put these is the order I find myself doing in real life a lot of times. If I can put God in the front in everything that I do, think and say, then everything else will fall in place for me. The message we heard yesterday was for me. I have really been thinking about those four idols and what are my idols? Idols are the things that are keeping me from cultivating a deeper relationship with the Father. You pray for me that I will truly give up the idols in my life. And you know what? I’m going to have to cultivate a deeper relationship with the Father to be able to do so. For me, fully relying on God and totally giving up myself is very difficult. It is not in my nature to let someone else be in control. While this really isn’t an answer to your question at all, I just want you to know how this has helped me today. Thanks for being faithful to the Kingdom.

  2. Good post Bro! You bring up a great topic and for me the answer came while studying the “Lord’s Prayer” a couple of weeks ago. When the disciples asked Jesus how to pray he said “Pray then like this”: “Our Father in heaven, hallowed be your name. Your kingdom come, your will be done, on earth as it is in heaven “Matthew 6:9-10 ESV. The take away here is that Jesus is telling his disciples to honor God first before asking for your daily bread. We have to remember that we were created for the sole purpose of worshiping the Father and that he longs to hear from us and have that long and loving relationship that A.W Tozer talked about. Just imagine if our kids came to us and gave us praise before asking for something, they would have us eating out of their hands. I think our Father is the same way. He loves to bless us and but wants us to be grateful and acknowledge what he has done for us. Thanks for another good topic! Peace and Love my Brother!

  3. “We have to remember that we were created for the sole purpose of worshiping the Father and that he longs to hear from us and have that long and loving relationship that A.W Tozer talked about.”

    Well…there went my answer. So I’ll just say: Yeah, what Chris said.

    Brad

  4. Very thought provoking. Thank you for sharing this. I have no answers for you, but sometimes you can’t find answers until you recognize and ask the questions!

  5. This is an awesome post. I know it is old but I googled this msg and wow I needed to read this and if you hadn’t realize immediately after your post but you answer is in your prayer request.

Leave a Reply

