Daily Devotional – Abortion, Ironic

Exodus 21:22-25

22 “When men strive together and hit a pregnant woman, so that her children come out, but there is no harm, the one who hit her shall surely be fined, as the woman’s husband shall impose on him, and he shall pay as the judges determine. 23 But if there is harm, then you shall pay life for life, 24 eye for eye, tooth for tooth, hand for hand, foot for foot, 25 burn for burn, wound for wound, stripe for stripe.

I know since even before I was a Christian I had heard the phrase “an eye for and eye and a tooth for tooth”.  Tracking through Exodus, I came across it’s first use in the Bible. Ironically, it is first used after God’s instructions on what to do when an unborn child is killed.

In the abortion debate, it is important to understand that Jesus repealed “an eye for an eye” in Mathew 5:38. It is paramount that we recognize that violence is not the way of Jesus and cannot not be our way, but we should not be afraid either to point out that killing the unborn is dealt with by God in His laws.

My only point about the justification of abortion is to say that much of the abortion debate centers around when the life of the child begins, but notice that this is not God’s approach. In verse 22 from above it is the pregnancy of a woman that is used as the measurement of whether abortion is justifiable not the viability of the unborn child.

Often times when I get asked about abortion I say, “I’m glad my Mom wasn’t for it”. I often say that tongue and cheek, but I mean those words now more than ever. It is hard to imagine the plans God has for a life. It is easy to forget that we don’t live isolated in a vacuum and that every person we cherish or are blessed by has started out in the womb of a pregnant woman. I recognize that I am man and I will never be faced with the ultimate decision in the abortion debate, but I implore everyone who calls on the name of Jesus, to pray for those will. Ask our Father to help them make decisions for life. You never know how the life of another may change yours. Thanks Mom.

Heavenly Father, thank you for your goodness. Thank you for this day and allowing me to wake up and experience your love and  your creation. Father I lift up pregnant women to you. I pray that you would touch them and guide them. Father I pray that you would use the rest of us to help out where we can. Father help us with sin today. Remind us of our salvation and help us not to treat it lightly. Thank you for the great cost you paid for us. Remind us that no matter what we have done your grace and your offer of salvation in Jesus is there for us.  Thank you for that grace. In Jesus name. Amen.

4 thoughts on “Daily Devotional – Abortion, Ironic

Leave a Reply

