Daily Devotional – Worry

Philippians 4:4-7

4 Rejoice in the Lord always; again I will say, Rejoice. 5 Let your reasonableness be known to everyone. The Lord is at hand; 6 do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God. 7 And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.

I have been up early more days than not lately because of concerns that are weighing on my mind. I wake up anxious and unsettled. Today is no exception. I was up a full hour earlier than I had my alarm clock set for. It is funny how our concerns can affect our sleep habits and how our sleep habits can in turn affect our work productivity, our patience with others, and our overall mood.

Today’s scripture points out a few key things to remember when dealing with worry in our lives.

1)We must not lose sight of our Salvation. It is easy to be overwhelmed with concerns of this life when we forget that this life will at some point pass away and we will live on eternally with God through Jesus who rescued us from God’s just wrath.

2)We must remember that God is presently working in this life according to His will. We have to resist the urge to think of God as far off and that someday we will be close to Him as was pass from this life to the next. As the writer here says, “the Lord is at hand”.

3)We have to get that in prayer and communion with God we are able to lay our worries and cares on the Father in return for His peace.

The application of this scripture is pretty strait forward. God is calling us to bring our worries and concerns to Him. We are reminded that in Christ our ultimate concern has been settled. We will not face the wrath of God for our sins. We have been reconciled to God and we will dwell with Him forever. All things become secondary after this point, yet God is gracious and He recognizes that we will still worry in this life so He invites us to bring those worries to Him. His promise is that as we give him our worries and concerns He will give us His peace.

Please pray for me today that I remember and apply this truth.

Heavenly Father, on your mighty shoulders rests the universe. You are the beginning and the end of all things. In your divine providence you created us all and allow us through Jesus Christ to worship and commune with you. Remind us today that there are no concerns in this life that you can not shoulder for us. Remind us that where our love is imperfect your love is perfect. Remind us that you offer your peace freely in exchange for our worries and concerns because you love us and made us. Thank you for this day Father. May our only concern be you and your Glory. We submit this prayer in Jesus name. Amen.

3 thoughts on “Daily Devotional – Worry

  1. Bro this message is right on time for me. I have been worried the past week about my A/C and different things around the house and have not been focused on the Kingdom. I often forget how many times in the past I have worried for nothing and the Lord hath provided. He is always faithful! Thanks for the encouraging Word that came just in time!

  2. “Please pray for me today that I remember and apply this truth.”

    I will, Tony. And please know that your ailment here isn’t yours alone – and even though it’s hard for me to grasp during seasons of worry, I have to remember that my healing will only come when I realize that the cross always looms larger than my problems and that my King isn’t unfamiliar with my weakness. May God get even more glory as we suffer for him and struggle for his assurances.

    Brad

Leave a Reply

