Daily Devotional – I no Longer Live

Galatians 2:20-21 (ESV)

20 I have been crucified with Christ. It is no longer I who live, but Christ who lives in me. And the life I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me.

I have spent some time this morning trying to layout some great illustration of how we all want to have our own identity, pointing out that  many of us will spend a lifetime trying to define ourselves by career and accomplishment.  I wasn’t real happy with the writing so I will just leave it at this: Today’s verse is a challenging reminder that in Christ we no longer have any identity of our own.

At first read I am rebellious to this ideal. I want to have my own identity. Didn’t God create me and make me special. I should be identifiable right? After chewing on this a bit, I realize that my desire to have an identity is my core problem. I have been beating this drum a lot lately. This story is not about me and my glory and my choices and my identity. It is about God. It is about Jesus. I was created for a purpose, but that purpose but was not to edify and honor and praise myself. It was to edify and honor and praise He who made me. Ultimately, the only identity that has worth is Jesus’ identity. It is the only identity that is recognized by God. It is the only identity that is pure and perfect and blameless. I’m not sure what self-serving identity I could create for myself that would be greater than that.

The verse today reminds us that as Christians we are dead to who were before Christ and our old identity.  It reminds us that it is no longer us that lives, but Jesus.

Heavenly Father, we offer you praise. In you all things are made and all thing are sustained. The great “I Am”, the “King of Kings”, the “Lord of All”, The “Alpha and the Omega”, the “Redeemer of our Souls”. Your identity is perfect and complete. Forgive us Father for neglecting the divine exchange of your identity in place of ours. Forgive us for accepting your grace and your salvation and yet still trying to define who we are. Help us lose ourselves in you today. Thank you for your love. In Jesus name. Amen.

3 thoughts on “Daily Devotional – I no Longer Live

  1. Bro,
    You bring up a great point. I have struggled with this myself. I think it’s in our human nature to want affirmation and praise. But the problem is we want these things from man and not from our Father. It’s really a big disappointment when we get to a certain level or feel we have a obtained a prestigious identity and realize it really means nothing. Then we feel the need to try to take it to the next level and we spend our lives trying to impress man. The cool thing about having an identity in Christ is that we are all the same and we don’t feel like we have to compete with each to have the better identity if that makes any sense. Good post my brother!

    • Good points bro. I think when you are saying it is in our “human” nature to want affirmation it really hits the nail on the head. I think it is our sinful Adamic nature that make us want praise for ourselves instead of reserving praise for the Father.

      Tony

Leave a Reply

