SOAP Journal Entry – Genesis 12:11-13

S – [11] When he was about to enter Egypt, he said to Sarai his wife, “I know that you are a woman beautiful in appearance, [12] and when the Egyptians see you, they will say, ‘This is his wife.’ Then they will kill me, but they will let you live. [13] Say you are my sister, that it may go well with me because of you, and that my life may be spared for your sake.” (Genesis 12:11-13 ESV)

O – This chapter begins with God telling Abram to leave everything that he has knows and go “to the land that I will show you.”  That’s faith.  Just up and moving, not really knowing where.  Then we come to verse 10, Abram and Sarai are going into Egypt because of a famine in Canaan.  All the sudden his faith in God is gone!  He asks Sarai to tell a half-truth and say she is his sister.  Why?  Because she was beautiful and he feared for his life?  Yes, but more importantly, he didn’t trust that God would protect him.  His plan doesn’t work, Pharaoh does spare his life, but he takes Sarai as his wife anyway, and then God has to rescue Abram.

A – How many times have I thought my way was better than God’s?  How often have I not demonstrated my faith and let God work things out for me?  How many times have my plans backfired and God has had to “bail me out”?  As a Christian, I need to be dependent upon God.  As a human, I find this difficult.  I need to exercise my faith more and trust that God will care for my every need.

P – Heavenly Father thank you for your faithfulness to me even when I may not always be faithful to you.  Help me to realize that You are always there for me, from the beginning.  Help me to turn to you in faith FIRST!  Help me to depend more on You and less on me.  Thank you again for Your Word and what it reveals.  In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Leave a Reply

