SOAP Journal Entry – Matthew 18:1-4

S – [1] At that time the disciples came to Jesus, saying, “Who is the greatest in the kingdom of heaven?” [2] And calling to him a child, he put him in the midst of them [3] and said, “Truly, I say to you, unless you turn and become like children, you will never enter the kingdom of heaven. [4] Whoever humbles himself like this child is the greatest in the kingdom of heaven.  (Matthew 18:1-4 ESV)

O – As I read this Scripture I really began to think about what does it mean to become like a child?  What qualities do children possess that adults do not?  The first one that came to my mind was trust.  While I realize there may have been many more that our Savior was referring to, trust seemed real important to me.  Little children trust the adults in their life completely.  They have complete confidence that they will be fed, clothed, cared for if they get hurt, and that parent will be there whenever they are needed.  How much simpler would our life be if we would give our Heavenly Father this same trust.  After all, can’t we have complete confidence in Him?  Can’t we trust that He will supply our every need?

A – What does this mean for me?  I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again – total dependence is a hard one for me.  But if I want to enter the Kingdom, I have to become as a child.  One of those qualities, is total dependence on my Heavenly Father.  Trust that I will be fed, clothed, cared for and He will always be there when I need Him.

P – Heavenly Father, help me to become as a child.  Help me to put all my trust in You.  In Jesus’ name, Amen.

‘Tis so sweet to trust in Jesus, Just to take Him at His word; Just to rest upon His promise,  And to know, “Thus saith the Lord”.  Jesus, Jesus how I trust Him!  How I’ve proved Him o’er and o’er.  Jesus, Jesus precious Jesus!  Oh for grace to trust Him more!
2 thoughts on “SOAP Journal Entry – Matthew 18:1-4

  1. Chelle,

    Great reminder here. Total dependence is really hard, but what I find is self-dependence doesn’t work out so well either. Of course I usually have to to through pain to make that realization. Thanks for sharing your insights!

    Tony

  2. Ditto on what Tony said, for me the hardest thing is remembering to go to the Father first instead of being a last resort. I don’t know how many times I have heard the saying “well all we can do now is pray” well we should of prayed first! Good stuff Sis

Leave a Reply

