SOAP Journal Entry – Mark 8:36-37

S – [36] For what does it profit a man to gain the whole world and forfeit his soul? [37] For what can a man give in return for his soul? (Mark 8:36-37 ESV)

O – Every one who believes on the name of the Lord Jesus Christ has a constant struggle going on inside of them.  Their old nature or attraction to the world vs. their new nature or attraction to God.  This struggle will continue as long as the believer is a citizen of this world.  We are to separate ourselves from the things of this world.  What does that mean?  What are the things of this world?  I believe that the things of this world are anything that draws us away from our Saviour.  Anything that keeps us from being all the He wants us to be.

A – My goal in life is to serve the Lord completely.  As a Christian I am not to sin.  I realize that as long as I am on this earth I will never achieve perfection, but that should never stop me from trying.  Fanny Crosby, the blind poetess, wrote a beautiful song called “Take The World, But Give Me Jesus” and that is the desire of my heart.  Jesus is the desire of my heart.  For what good will it do me to have the entire world, yet lose Jesus.  Without Jesus, I have nothing.

P – Heavenly Father, thank you so much for giving Your Son to die for my sins.  I surrender myself to You completely for there is nothing in this world worth my soul.  My desire is to keep my eyes fixed on You, to love with a love like that of Christ, and to serve with a servant’s heart.  I want to be like Jesus.  Please help me as I walk with You throughout my life.  I don’t want anything to distract me from You and Your work.  I love you.  In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Take The World, But Give Me Jesus – Fanny J. Crosby

Take the world, but give me Jesus
All its joys are but a name;
But His love abideth ever,
Through eternal years the same.

Take the world, but give me Jesus,
Sweetest comfort of my soul;
With my Savior watching o’er me,
I can sing though billows roll.

Take the world, but give me Jesus,
Let me view His constant smile;
Then throughout my pilgrim journey
Light will cheer me all the while.

Take the world,but give me Jesus;
In His cross my trust shall be,
Till, with clearer, brighter vision,
Face to face my Lord I see.

Refrain:
Oh, the height and depth of mercy!
Oh, the length and breadth of love!
Oh, the fullness of redemption,
Pledge of endless life above!

Leave a Reply

