SOAP Journal Entry – Acts 1:6-8

SCRIPTURE:

6 So when they had come together, they asked him, “Lord, will you at this time restore the kingdom to Israel?” 7 He said to them, “It is not for you to know times or seasons that the Father has fixed by his own authority. 8 But you will receive power when the Holy Spirit has come upon you, and you will be my witnesses in Jerusalem and in all Judea and Samaria, and to the end of the earth.”

OBSERVATION:

These verses really puts into perspective the mindset of the disciples. They had followed and learned from Jesus for 3 years. They saw Him brutally tortured and executed and witnessed the awesome power of God in his resurrection.  Now they have had 40 days with the risen Jesus to soak it all in and it seems logical that they would start wondering when the overthrow of the Roman occupiers would occur. If we think about Jewish history up to that time the pattern had been oppression and captivity followed by liberation and national supremacy. It was the case in Egypt and Babylon and it stands to reason that the disciples assumed it would be the case in regards to the Roman occupation. I think it is cool that Jesus’ response is to tell them not to be concerned with the results of God’s work but rather to set themselves to receive power and be a His  witness.

APPLICATION:

I think the application for me is to focus on being a witness more than anything else. Sometimes I fail to embrace and submit to the Spirit of God that dwells in me.  I know that I often do at times focus more on the results of God labor instead of being a witness and proclaimer of it. I think practically I should strive to live as submissive as possible to the Spirit’s leading always ready to testify and proclaim Jesus and the Kingdom.

PRAYER:

Father, thank you God that I don’t have to figure out all the things that you do. Thank you Lord that you died for my sins so that I may be a citizen of your Kingdom. Forgive me for focusing on the stuff of this world at the cost of my witness. Come Holy Spirit and guide me and empower me to accomplish all that you would have me do. Thank you for your many blessings. I pray in Jesus’ name. Amen.

One thought on “SOAP Journal Entry – Acts 1:6-8

  1. Bro!

    It goes to show that even the Disciples didn’t know Gods plan until it was time for them to play it out. I think the same could be said for us today. I know personally God has done things in my life and put me in places that I never would of thought of and he did it for His glory and it always worked out to be the best thing for me as well. Good post!

Leave a Reply

