SOAP Journal Entry – Proverbs 18:24

S – A man that hath friends must show himself friendly: and there is a friend that sticketh closer than a brother. (Proverbs 18:24 KJV)

O – Proverbs is a book full of wisdom. After all, it was written by the man who received wisdom from God. There is none wiser than Solomon. Solomon gives several nuggets of wisdom regarding friendship throughout Proverbs but this one is probably my favorite. The second half says it all, “there is a friend that sticketh closer than a brother.”

A – I have several friends. I have one friend I call kindred. She and I met while I was in college. We quickly became friends and realized we have much in common. Right down to our date of birth. I don’t see her very often because we live miles apart, but when I do see or talk to her it is like we’ve never been apart. I have another friend I call bestie. She and I have been friends for longer than we can actually remember. I talk to her daily and during the school year we even work together. She is one of those friends that’s more like a sister and you just aren’t sure what life would be like if she weren’t around. Despite these very dear friends that I have, I have a Friend that means more than they do. I have a Friend that will never leave me nor forsake me. He is there for me to talk to 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, every day of the year. He is there for me to cast all my cares upon. He is there when no one else is and when no one else cares. In case you haven’t figured it out, that Friend is Jesus. He’s the best Friend anyone could ever have.

P – Heavenly Father thank you for being my friend. Thank you for loving me when unlovable. Thank you for being closer than any earthly relationship I have. Help me when I get discouraged and seem to forget that you are my best friend and that no one can help me in the same way that you can. Help me to turn to you first! In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Leave a Reply

