SOAP Journal Entry – Hebrews 13:2

S – [2] Do not neglect to show hospitality to strangers, for thereby some have entertained angels unawares. (Hebrews 13:2 ESV)

O – The writer of the Hebrews is ending this book with some exhortations about community and fellowship. This particular verse deals with hospitality. Something that would have been quite important then because travel was difficult and could be dangerous.

A – When I read this Scripture, it brought my Grandma Frownfelter to mind. I always called her “Mammy”. My Mammy died several years ago. She had been sick with her heart for as long as I could remember. I vaguely remember her being able to attend church. Because she was always sick, there was a lot about my Mammy I didn’t know until she had passed away. The day of her funeral my daddy told me things about Mammy I had never heard before. My Mammy was adopted, I didn’t know that. The lady that took her in was praying when this verse in Hebrews came to her. There was a knock at the door around the same time and my Mammy was on the other side. Little did this woman or anyone else know that my Mammy would become an evangelist. She went around preaching and many came to know the Lord under her ministry. This is just a small amount of my Mammy’s life before she became to sick to work for the Lord anymore. So what is the application here? We never know what influence we are having on someone. We never know why it is that the Lord brings someone across our path. We never know who we are “entertaining”. In my Mammy’s case, the dear lady who took her into her home and finished raising her was “entertaining” a great evangelist and worker for the Lord!

P – Heavenly Father, thank you for putting people into my life to whom I can minister. Thank you for using me as Your servant. Help me to always “entertain” with You in mind before all else. I want You to always be first in all that I do. Help me to serve those that you bring into my life. My desire is always to serve and never to be selfish. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Leave a Reply

