SOAP Journal Entry – Psalm 9:1

S – I will give thanks to the LORD with my whole heart; I will recount all of your wonderful deeds. (Psalm 9:1 ESV)

O – It seems the Psalmist is expressing his desire to thank God for all He has done. The phrase “with my whole heart” is very significant in that when we are praising and thanking God it truly needs to be with our everything! I also like the word “recount”. We need to not only be thankful for current things, but also former things. Like counting our blessings again and again. Not only should we be thankful for the gifts that we have been given, but more importantly we also need to be thankful for the Giver! The Giver of all gifts is who we are to praise.

A – This past Sunday was my brother’s birthday. I mailed him a gift on Tuesday which he received on Thursday. He called me to tell me thank you for whatever it was I had sent him. It didn’t really matter to him at that moment what was in the box, just that I had cared enough to give a gift had made him happy. His “thank you” was from the heart!

How much more should we thank our Heavenly Father for the gifts He has given us! Look back over your life, recount all of His wonderful gifts that He has given you. Offer Him thanks with your whole heart. Sing His praises! He is worthy of all the praise and glory and honor that we can heap upon Him. There is a song I really like by the Collingsworth Family that has a line that goes, “Count your blessings again, again, and again, start with the one where He saved you from sin.” Try it! Count and recount all the gifts He has given you. I imagine you’ll run out of voice, before you run out of praise for the Giver of all gifts.

P – Heavenly Father, I want to thank you for all the many gifts that you have given me. I want to count and recount my blessings. I can never thank you enough for all that You are to me and all that You do for me. Help me in times of discouragement to lift my head and count my blessings again and again. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

2 thoughts on “SOAP Journal Entry – Psalm 9:1

  1. Good word here sister. The other thing that hit me reading this is that sometimes there are blessings and gifts in the works you didn’t know about. Some gifts take years (like 40) to manifest, so I am more challenged to rest in God’s love for me knowing that He is working all things for good even when I don’t know about it.

    Thanks again,

    Tony

    • Amen! There have been many times in my life that I have received from God and looking back it is evident that it had been in the making for awhile and I didn’t know it. I will agree the 40 year wait for His gift was the the best one though!

Leave a Reply

