SOAP Journal Entry – Genesis 45:8

S – So it was not you who sent me here, but God. He has made me a father to Pharaoh, and lord of all his house and ruler over all the land of Egypt.
(Genesis 45:8 ESV)

As for you, you meant evil against me, but God meant it for good, to bring it about that many people should be kept alive, as they are today.
(Genesis 50:20 ESV)

O – Here is Joseph, a young man sold into slavery by his brothers. While in this slavery, he was put into a high position in Pharaoh’s house, lied about, put into prison, put into a high position within the prison, interpreted the butler and the baker’s dreams, forgotten about for 2 years, finally remembered when Pharaoh needed a dream interpreted, and then placed into a position described as “lord of all his (Pharaoh’s) house”. Wow! What a roller coaster ride! How would you react? I am amazed at Joseph’s answer for all of this when he finally sees his brothers that had originally wronged him. In Genesis 45:8, he says, “it was not you who sent me here, but God.” Then in Genesis 50:20, he says, “…you meant it for evil against me, but God meant it for good,…” What a lesson we can learn!

A – So what’s the application in my life? It’s pretty simple. God can use everything in my life to glorify Him. Sometimes things happen and I have no idea why…they are for His glory. Sometimes bad things happen and I have no idea why…they are for His glory. Sometimes good things happen…we don’t usually question these…but they are for His glory. Praise His Name!

P – Heavenly Father, thank you for revealing your power in every area of my life. Thank you for the gentle reminder that the things happening in my life that I don’t understand are so You will ultimately be glorified. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

One thought on “SOAP Journal Entry – Genesis 45:8

Leave a Reply

