Daily Devotional – Reluctant King, Reluctant Christian

1 Samuel 10:6

6 Then the Spirit of the LORD will rush upon you, and you will prophesy with them and be turned into another man.

1 Samuel 10:22

22 So they inquired again of the LORD, “Is there a man still to come?” and the LORD said, “Behold, he has hidden himself among the baggage.”

I found this interesting nugget from 1 Samuel. It comes from the story of how the first king was appointed in Israel. Basically, the people cry out for a king because they want to be ruled like other nations. God sends the prophet Samuel to point out who the king should be. God tells Samuel to pick this guy Saul. Samuel goes to Saul and tells him all that is to happen and that the at the culmination of the events he will become king. He tells Saul that while he is waiting to become king he will be filled with Holy Spirit and that because of this encounter with the Holy Spirit he will become a different man.  All these things came to pass. Saul was filled the Spirit and those who knew him testified that he was indeed changed.

When I read this I was excited. I was thinking what a cool precursor to the modern Christian experience. Here we see God working in Saul much in the same way he works in us. As we come to faith and are in Christ we are filled with the Holy Spirit and hopefully that transformation is evident to the folks that knew us prior to conversion. As I read further I was shocked to find that after God had poured His Spirit out on Saul he kinda wimped out. Check out verse 22. At the moment when he was suppose to step up and be King, he went and hid. I was like what? The Spirit of God equipped Saul to be King of the nation and he hid out in the baggage. Really? Thinking about it though, isn’t this also often true about our Christian experience? I know from my experience there have been times I did not want to step up and do the things God has called. I have wimped out on things much simpler than leading a nation. Church attendance, leading my family consistently in devotions, and loving my neighbors are just a few examples of where I have hidden in the baggage.

I know I have heard it said that one of the reasons God fills us is so that we can empty ourselves out in service to others. I think the challenge is that we have to lay down our individual concerns and understand that Jesus ministers to us as a body. Each one of us are gifted and equipped so that we might be a benefit to our fellow believers. Our reluctance to engage in what God has called us and equipped us to do affects more that our own journey. It affects our families, the people we have influence with, and it affects Jesus’ bride the Church. Let us not forget that God who has called us will empower us to do all he sets before us.

So, pray for me and I’ll pray for you that we would not hide out in the baggage but that we would walk out our calling for the glory of the one who made the call!

Heavenly Father, thank you Lord for a new day. Father help us embrace your call and empower us with boldness to walk it out. Forgive our reluctance. In Jesus’ name. Amen.

One thought on “Daily Devotional – Reluctant King, Reluctant Christian

Leave a Reply

