Dailly Application – Salvation isn’t just about Heaven

Psalm 25:4-5

4      Make me to know your ways, O LORD; teach me your paths.

5      Lead me in your truth and teach me, for you are the God of my salvation; for you I wait all the day long.

When I woke up this morning I already had a plan for my day much in the same way I always have a plan for my day. It seems that there is always so many things that need attention that each day requires I make a list of things to complete so nothing falls apart and so everything goes according to plan. My plan. I wrote basically the same thing in my journal Saturday morning. It struck me then as it is now that maybe in planning out everything I intend to do I run the risk of missing out on what God would have me do each day.

I really like the verses above from Psalm 25. I think they accurately reflect my desire to be led by God. I like that they remind me that were it not for God I would be utterly lost.  The challenging part of these verses is the waiting that the psalmist talks about at the end of verse 5. I think if I had written this psalm it would read, “for you I wait all the day long, but if you could teach me between 5:10 and 5:18 that’s when I will really be waiting”.

So how do these verses apply to our lives?

For me the application is elusive. Intellectually, I could easily say that the key is to be less rigid in my approach to devotional time. I could say I need to mix it up and not make seeking God part of my to-do list but make it more of a lifestyle, but none of these things seem sincere. I think a core issue is that I am still not completely dependent on God. I think that part of me still says hey, “I have to make this happen or that happen or my life will fall apart”. 

Additionally, I think it is easy to over-spiritualize the Old Testament. When David writes above that God is the God of his salvation he is not talking about eternity. He is talking about salvation in the context of his earthly circumstance. I think what David had and what I sometimes lack is knowing that my relationship with Jesus is all I need for the life I live now. I forget that Jesus is my savior not just in the life to come, but also for the life I live today. I forget that regardless of my plan, my to-do list, and my priorities that there is one who has already saved me from the worries of this life, one who has already checked the boxes on my reading plan, one who has told me to follow him, and one who has told me to lay down my life and live his. There is no waiting period for life in the Kingdom that is centered on a dependency in God. It begins at conversion. I think we have to remind ourselves continually that it is not our own efforts that sustain us but it the very will of God that gives us our next breath.

Please pray for me today and I will pray for you that we will  become more like Jesus and that we will be utterly dependent on him alone.

Heavenly Father, thank you for another day. Thank you for families and jobs and all that you have entrusted us with. Help us today to fulfill our responsibilities and help us not to rely on our own strengths but be utterly dependent on you. I pray for myself and those who are reading these words that we would become more like Jesus and that you would teach us your ways and guide us. I offer you praise. In Jesus name, Amen.

4 thoughts on “Dailly Application – Salvation isn’t just about Heaven

  1. Good post Bro. It’s hard for me to realize that Jesus has already paid it all. I too think of a list of things I need to do or check off but then I remember Jesus telling His disciples to follow me and they dropped everything to do just that. I’m on the fence about setting a devotion time or just being led by the Spirit, I like the ideal of it being a life style and being a natural part of the day. I think I have gotten to that point with my Sunday worship (being it just comes natural and not a box to check) I just need to keep it going throughout the week. Thanks for the reminder that Jesus is all we need for the life we live now.

    • Thanks for the comment Bro! Ya I hope I don’t sound like I don’t value devotional time. I believe that it is essential. I guess I worry about my motivation sometimes. I’m I checking a box or am I really engaged in seeking God.

  2. Lots of great thoughts in this post Tony! Last week I was reminded that I have to actually “slow down” if I want to follow God & see Him work through me. It’s hard to “wait on the Lord” in a hurry:-). One of my friends has made his calendar a daily part of his devotional life. Before he ends his prayer time he actually opens his computer & prays over his calendar. He asks questions like “God what is important to you today?” “What do You want me to accomplish?” Then he makes adjustments. I’ve been trying to do this more. Thanks again for the reminders & for the great post!

    • Brad,

      Thanks for the comments. I agree waiting on the Lord is hard to do in hurry. We are such an instant culture the ideal of waiting almost seems unreasonable to us. I think about the Exodus and 40 years of waiting. I just gotta remind myself what I know to be true about God and find comfort in His faithfulness.

      Tony

Leave a Reply

