Daily Application – Give to Everyone

Luke 6:30

30 Give to everyone who begs from you, and from one who takes away your goods do not demand them back.

Acts 3:2-6

2 And a man lame from birth was being carried, whom they laid daily at the gate of the temple that is called the Beautiful Gate to ask alms of those entering the temple. 3 Seeing Peter and John about to go into the temple, he asked to receive alms. 4 And Peter directed his gaze at him, as did John, and said, “Look at us.” 5 And he fixed his attention on them, expecting to receive something from them. 6 But Peter said, “I have no silver and gold, but what I do have I give to you. In the name of Jesus Christ of Nazareth, rise up and walk!”

Have you ever struggled with Luke 6:30? I have. In it, Jesus tells us that we are never to refuse or hold back giving when people ask from us. How challenging is that? I have had discussions with friends who have said, “cool, if this what you believe Jesus is teaching then give me your house or your car”. I have never really known how to answer that. I feel I could rationalize and say well I have to discern whether the person begging is really in need or decide if helping the one who is asking by giving them something is really helping them or just enabling them to continue to beg.  Yet, Jesus doesn’t really qualify what he is saying. His teaching is to “give to everyone who begs from you”.

Now take a moment and read Acts 3:2-6. I’ll sum it up. This is occurring after Jesus has ascended into Heaven and after the Holy Spirit has come. Peter and John two of Jesus’ twelve disciple are are making their way to the Temple grounds. As they pass through the Temple gate, they lock eyes with a beggar who is physically unable to walk. The scripture tells us that the beggar was expecting to receive money from the disciples but instead received a miracle and his physical ability to walk was restored to him. He was healed. 

Did you catch what Peter said to the beggar? Peter said, “I have no silver or gold, but what I have give to you”.  For me this has become really helpful in my thinking about Luke 6:30. Read it Luke 6:30 again. Jesus says, “give to everyone who begs from you”.  Think about it. Peter knew the teaching of Jesus. He knew that the Lord taught him to give to every beggar and here he demonstrates something key that I often miss. He demonstrates we always have something to give. As Christians, we have all been given the divine gift of the Gospel. We have all become partakers of God’s gift of grace not so we can hoard it but rather so that we can re-gift it. We are never without something to give.

So what’s the application?

I think application for Luke 6:30 is pretty strait forward. Give something to everyone who asks from you. There will be times where that is physical goods but I think more often there will be times where we are presented the opportunity to give the ultimate gift of the Gospel. I think the Lord challenges us and Peter demonstrates that as citizens of the Kingdom we are carry around with us a testimony and a proclamation that transforms lives and sets people free. I think the application is to be mindful that we are never empty handed and that we should always be willing to give away what was freely given to us.

Heavenly Father, thank you God for the gift of salvation. Thank you Lord Jesus for your sacrifice and your willingness to give your perfect life in exchange for ours, and thank you Holy Spirit for taking up residence inside of us and empowering us to be your ambassadors in a world that is perishing. I pray for boldness today. I pray Father that I would not respond to those who are asking of me as one who has nothing to give, but rather as one who has the ultimate gift. Thank you for your grace. I offer you praise. In Jesus name, Amen.  

Leave a Reply

