Soteriology–The Study of Salvation

Acts 16:30 (ESV)

30 Then he brought them out and said, “Sirs, what must I do to be saved?”

Soteriology is the term that is used to describe the study of salvation. Yesterday was October 31st and while many celebrated this day as Halloween it was also celebrated as Reformation Day. Reformation Day marks the day in 1517 when Martin Luther nailed his protest letter to the door of the Roman Catholic church in Wittenberg, Germany. He was essentially protesting the differences he saw in the way salvation was described in the Scriptures and the way salvation was being taught in the church at that time. Luther contended that the church’s teaching that salvation was obtained only if the individual did certain works or kept certain rules was inconsistent with the teaching of the Bible that salvation comes from faith alone. The result of Luther’s action in 1517 forever changed Christianity. The Protestant Reformation spawned the vast denominational church system we have today. What I hope to do over the next few days is look at a few key concepts in the soteriology debate. My goal is not so much academic as it is personal. For me I am always trying answer the question of how should I live. I think a foundational answer to that question begins in understanding my relationship to God in salvation. Let me preface this for any new readers by saying that I am not a trained theologian. I am just a guy doing my best with the help of the Spirit to study the scriptures looking for God’s revelation to me. Please feel free to jump in the discussion.

Heavenly Father, thank you for your Word and the chance to read and study it with others. I pray as we try to understand from it better how you work in our lives and how we should respond to you that you will give us revelation and insight. Father, ultimately, I desire my efforts and my time to be honoring of you. I pray that you would speak to us as we seek you. Thank you for your love. We offer you praise. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

One thought on “Soteriology–The Study of Salvation

Leave a Reply

