We are all Sheep!

Ezekiel 34:31

31 And you are my sheep, human sheep of my pasture, and I am your God, declares the Lord GOD.”  (ESV)

I really like this declaration that God makes to the people of Israel. The context of this statement is a prophecy that God is giving the prophet Ezekiel. God is expressing his disappoint in the human leaders that were ruling in Israel. God describes a scenario where the established leaders were more concerned for themselves than the people they were suppose to be leading. God saw the results of this neglect to be a flock that was vulnerable to disaster. God saw the poorly tended flock as one with sheep that could easily fall prey to the world around them. I find much comfort in God’s solution to become the shepherd. Jesus makes a similar statement in John 10:11.

11 I am the good shepherd. The good shepherd lays down his life for the sheep. (ESV)

Here we have Jesus affirming his role as God. Just like the Father declared to Israel so the Son’s declares to all of His followers that He is the ultimate leader of His flock.

I think often times we get caught up in following a personality or a church leader that really preaches and teaches well and we miss the fact that ultimately that person stands in submission to Jesus just like we do. I think we need to encourage each other to not so much be disciples of good earthly teachers who teach about Jesus, but rather we need to embrace the reality that these teachers were elevated to their position to help us be disciples of Jesus.

In thinking of my own life I wonder how well I am doing pointing the people that I have influence over to the perfect leadership of Jesus. Do you guys have any advice on how to lead and influence while always pointing to Jesus?

Heavenly Father, thank you for your care and your ultimate leadership. Jesus you are our Shepherd, help us to yield to your leadership and help us direct those that look to us for leadership to your perfection. I pray in your name. Amen.

Leave a Reply

