God is in Us.

John 14:16-17 (ESV)

16 And I will ask the Father, and he will give you another Helper, to be with you forever, 17 even the Spirit of truth, whom the world cannot receive, because it neither sees him nor knows him. You know him, for he dwells with you and will be in you.

John 14:26 (ESV)

26 But the Helper, the Holy Spirit, whom the Father will send in my name, he will teach you all things and bring to your remembrance all that I have said to you.

Ok, confession time. I have been trying to get this post started for 30 minutes and have yet to find a good way to begin, however the idea of not being alone because the Holy Spirit lives in us is really ministering to me this morning. I really just want to write a post that says read John 14 when you get a chance. There is a lot in there so read it slow and really think about what Jesus is saying to His disciples. The context of John 14 is it is getting close to the time when Jesus is to be executed and He is trying to get His disciples to understand the significance of their time together. The key things He wanted his disciples to get was that:

  1. He and the Father are one. If you know Jesus you know the Father and that none will ever know the Father except through Jesus. (v7)
  2. That to truly love Jesus you have to keep His commandments.(My mind immediately starts looking for a checklist of dos and don’ts but I don’t think that is what Jesus is talking about here. I think He is talking about applying His teaching to our lives with the love of God and others as the pinnacle teaching.)(v15)
  3. The Father will send the Holly Spirit to live in His disciples after He has returned to the Father so that each disciple will have the power and the guidance to do the will of the Father.

The verses that corresponds with point 3 are highlighted above and this is the point I will end on. Many times in my walk with Jesus I have struggled to not feel alone. Many times I am scared to act on my faith because I worry what the outcome will be or I worry that I won’t say or do the right thing. Worse than this there are many times where I will worry about the things of this life (job, bills, relationships) to the point that I completely miss what God is doing. The big reality is I am not alone. Not only has Jesus died in my place so that I may be reconciled and have a relationship with the Father, but He has also taken up residence inside of me in the form of the Holy Spirit. It is hard to contemplate that the Spirit of God who did all the works of creation and the work of salvation and reconciliation lives inside of me. He lives in me to teach me and to guide me and to help me resist sin and to be bold for the Kingdom and to empower me to do all things. This is the same Spirit that lived in Jesus when He was in human form and this is the same Spirit that raised Jesus from the dead. What an awesome reality it is to know that God lives in us. May we all grab a hold of this truth and live in peace with boldness for the Kingdom.

Heavenly Father, thank you God for your grace and your salvation. Thank you for your Holy Spirit. Thank you that you live in us and guide us. Thank you Jesus for your teaching and your peace. We praise you! In your name, Amen.

4 thoughts on “God is in Us.

  1. You’re right brother, it is hard to really grasp the fact that the Creator of all things resides within us. How big is God? He’s big enough to rule the universe, yet small enough to live within my heart.

  2. Hi Tony,

    I enjoyed your post and found myself revealed in the things you say about yourself. Thank you for revealing your vulnerability.

    I read the other day that when Jesus says he is our Truth (v.6), he is not speaking of correct doctrine, but showing us the reality of God and of ourselves. In him we see what God is like, and in him we see what we are like. When I look at Jesus to be informed about God, I am never disappointed–I see God in him. But when I look at Jesus to see how I am doing, I am always convicted and see how I can become more like him, what I’ve neglected or perhaps even things I’ve been blind to about myself up to that time. It is truly amazing what we can find in the face of Jesus (God), and the fact that you revealed your own vulnerability in your post above, shows me you were in his presence for those 30 min. that you struggled with what to say.

    Lord bless,

    Eddie.

    • Eddie,

      Thanks for checking out the blog. I appreciate your comment and you encouragement. I think what you are saying is so key that to know God we have to look to Jesus.

      Tony

Leave a Reply

