God is in Charge of His Creation

“…then the LORD God formed the man of dust from the ground and breathed into his nostrils the breath of life, and the man became a living creature.” (Genesis 2:7 ESV)

“So God created man in his own image, in the image of God he created him; male and female he created them.” (Genesis 1:27 ESV)

I’ve had a lot of things going on in my life in the last 6 months. Some that have been out of my control. That is a hard thing for me. I was born on the 4th of July and my mom always said God did that as a joke. She claims some of my first words were, “I’ll do it myself!” While I’m sure that’s not quite accurate, her point has always been that I’m very independent. So when things are not exactly the way I believe they should be, my inclination is to fix it. “I’ll do it myself!”

While studying for children’s church a few Sundays ago, God really spoke to me about Him being in charge of everything. Starting with His creation – Me! When I really think about God’s creation, I’m so amazed! Day one…let there be light…and there it was. Day two…separated the sky from the waters…it just happened. Day three…separate the water from the dry land…let the earth bring forth vegetation of all kinds…and it was. Day four…sun, moon, stars…there they are. Day five…birds, fish…it was done. Day six…land animals…there they are…but day six wasn’t done.

This is where it gets real good. This is where God slowed down and took His time. The Bible very specifically says that God formed man from the dust of the ground. He MADE man. He didn’t just speak, He took His time. He made man with His very own hands. He made man different – special – unique! And then, He breathed life into man. He breathed physical and spiritual life into man.

God is in charge! He knows the things that I think I need to control. He knows my worries and concerns. He knows my strengths and my weaknesses. He knows everything little thing about me. He created me. No one knows the creation better than the Creator. God is in charge of His creation. God is in charge of every detail of my life. I can rest in that.

Earlier today my brother, Tony, posted “Proclaim Jesus”. That’s what I want to do. In every circumstance, I want to proclaim Jesus. I want to remember that even though I want to “do it myself”, there’s no need. God already has it under control. He’s in charge!

Heavenly Father, thank you for all Your creation. Thank you for creating me. Thank you for the opportunity to proclaim you in every circumstance. Help me to rest in the fact that YOU are in charge and I don’t have to be. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

One thought on “God is in Charge of His Creation

  1. Good stuff sister! I struggle myself with letting go of control. It is really freeing to realize we don’t have to control it. We just have to rest in God’s plans.

Leave a Reply

