Daily Devotional– God’s Revealed Will

Psalm 119:9-16

 

9      How can a young man keep his way pure?
By guarding it according to your word.

10      With my whole heart I seek you;
let me not wander from your commandments!
11      I have stored up your word in my heart,
that I might not sin against you.

12      Blessed are you, O LORD;
teach me your statutes!
13      With my lips I declare
all the rules of your mouth.

14      In the way of your testimonies I delight
as much as in all riches.
15      I will meditate on your precepts
and fix my eyes on your ways.
16      I will delight in your statutes;
I will not forget your word.

 

Working through my daily reading I came across this section of Psalm 119. It reminded me of the distinction between God’s revealed will and God’s secret will. The idea is this. God has revealed to humanity some very specific things about himself and about his relationship with us. This revelation is captured in the Scriptures. The benefit of God’s revealed will being captured in written form is that we may study and meditate on God in the very same way we study and meditate on any other subject. On the flip side is God’s secret or hidden will. These are things that we do no know of God or his plans. Details like the day we die or the time when Jesus will return to Earth all fall into the category of God’s secret will. The passage above really drives home for me what we should be doing with our time. We should be consuming as much of God’s revealed will as possible. Each of the 16 verses above keenly point out the benefit of knowing the Scripture.

I think we often fall into the trap of saying, “if I just knew what God wanted me to do I would do it”. I am thankful to the psalmist because I am reminded that as I hide God’s revealed will in my heart and mind that I will be able to seek God with purity and confidence. Additionally, I will be able to have confidence that how I am living is in accord to God’s desires.

Heavenly Father, thank you for your revealed will. I pray with the psalmist this morning that I you would teach me your statutes so that I may walk in your ways. I offer you praise. In Jesus name, Amen.

2 thoughts on “Daily Devotional– God’s Revealed Will

Leave a Reply

