Daily Devotional– Only Two Priorities

1 Peter 2:19

19 For this is a gracious thing, when, mindful of God, one endures sorrows while suffering unjustly.

The call of the disciple is to love God first and to love his neighbor second. Notice how this creates only two priorities for us. The first is God and the second is people. Also, notice how there really is no provision for making ourselves a priority. Love God first and then love people. That’s it. Many ask, “what is God’s will for my life?” Love God first and then love people.

I’m going to leave this post short because I feel like this is really all there is. Sometimes in loving God and loving others I will suffer. I will be offended and my feelings will be hurt, but its not about me. It is about God first and then its about other people.

Heavenly Father, thank you God for your grace and your love. Thank you that your love for us is sufficient and perfect. Help us keep the commandments you gave to love you above all and to love our neighbors. May we honor you today. In Jesus name, Amen.

3 thoughts on “Daily Devotional– Only Two Priorities

  1. Amen brother! Do you think there’s any room for setting yourself apart for awhile to rest? I personally feel sometimes that I can’t give any more. I have to take some time “alone” or I can’t go on. Alone is very funny here cuz you know my daughter is never far from me:) I justify it, if you will, because even Jesus separated Himself from the crowd on an occasion or two if I remember correctly. But then I feel guilty because someone needs me or something I can offer. Love ya bro. Good post!

  2. Thank for the comment sister. I think time apart/alone falls into the first priority of loving God. We take Sabbath in honor of God and our times of rest should be seasoned with fellowship and communion with the Father to recharge us for ministry to others. I get the feeling guilty, but if time with Father is not first priority I don’t see how we can properly serve others.

    Love you!

Leave a Reply

