Daily Devotional–Teaching my boy about Tron

Psalm 145:4

One generation shall commend your works to another,
and shall declare your mighty acts.

I took one of my sons to see the movie “Tron: Legacy” yesterday. The movie was a sequel to the movie “Tron” that I had really enjoyed when I was a kid. On the way to theater, I realized that my son hadn’t seen the original and I spent a little of ride explaining to him what had happened in the previous movie. I wanted him to be prepared for what he was about to encounter and I didn’t want him to be confused about the story. It may sound odd, but there was sense of pride I had in relating to my boy the foundational teachings of Tron. It reminded me of when I was a kid when I would ask my Dad something about his job and he would explain with great passion and detail about his work. You could tell he enjoyed teaching me.

Looking at today’s verse it reveals that my desire and the desire of  generations before me to teach the next is biblical. I am convicted that I can easily pass info down to my kids about video games, pop culture, computers, and a variety of subjects, but often times when I try and share with them about God it is challenging. Today’s verse challenges me to be more mindful and deliberate about what I am teaching, sharing, and proclaiming to my kids.

Heavenly Father, thank you for mighty works. Thank you that each breath I take is by your design and sovereign will. I pray that my testimony to the next generation would point to you. Thank you for your many blessings. I offer you praise. In Jesus name, Amen.

2 thoughts on “Daily Devotional–Teaching my boy about Tron

  1. And it’s so important that we do it. Too many of our children are being lost because we parents aren’t doing our “job”. Not only should we verbally teach and reteach, but we have to live it in front of them. And if we do mess up, admit it, learn from it and move on together. Good post brother! Such an important message.

  2. Good post my love. You are a wonderful father and you just worrying about it proves it. You show your children your commitment and love not only to them but also to Jesus.

Leave a Reply

