Daily Devotional–Work in Progress

Journaling this morning I wrote this prayer, “Thank you for waking me today to shape me and move me toward you and your perfection. I think I forget sometimes that you have started a work in me. I am guilty of just passing time and not always plugging in to what you are doing to make me holy”. I think this prayer comes from the idea revealed in Philippians 1:6 which reads;

And I am sure of this, that he who began a good work in you will bring it to completion at the day of Jesus Christ. (ESV)

Sometimes I do forget that I was set apart and adopted by the Creator of Universe. That is almost to much to wrap my head around. It is so heady that sometimes I try not to meditate on it and just slip into wait for Heaven mode using my time and resources to just fuel my pleasures and comforts. I don’t think this is the right approach. As disciples we need to understand that our great God chose each of us and facilitated our reconciliation back to himself by becoming one of us and dying in our place so that would be adopted into in his family. Our response to God’s work in us should not be just sitting and waiting to see if we are moved to action. Our response should be to do what we can to be like Jesus.

I am certain that the work that will one day be complete in me is all a God work. He will complete what he started, but I do not think that fact gives me license to wait it out, doing nothing until He returns or until I meet Him in Heaven. I am challenged as this year winds down to look at my resources of time and treasure and evaluate how much of each I spent this year on this kingdom versus the Father’s Kingdom. I think if I had to give and account to Jesus today I would be embarrassed.

As a final thought. God has started a work in us. The end result is perfection. God is light and in Him there is no darkness. We are adopted children of God. On earth we fellowship with the Father through the blood of Jesus, but when we are perfected and free of this sinful body that is the flesh we will see Him face to face. I don’t live my life like what I just wrote is really true, because if I did I would be constantly seeking and yielding to the guidance and the work of the Spirit. I would abhor the sin in my life and recognize it as barrier between me and my perfect Father, and while I fully understand that God’s work in me is a work in progress, how many times will I hinder that work or disrespect that work by bending a little toward sin and evil opposed to seeking out and trying to be and do what is righteous and holy.

Heavenly Father, thank you God for your adoption and your salvation. Thank you Spirit for your indwelling and your guidance. Forgive me where my resistance to the flesh is marginal and where my pursuit of fellowship and communion with you is lacking. Forgive me for the misuse of the resources you have given me. Help me see the work that you are doing in me. I offer you praise. In Jesus name, Amen.

One thought on “Daily Devotional–Work in Progress

Leave a Reply

