SOAPing the New Testament–1 Peter 1

Scripture:

3 Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ! According to his great mercy, he has caused us to be born again to a living hope through the resurrection of Jesus Christ from the dead, 4 to an inheritance that is imperishable, undefiled, and unfading, kept in heaven for you, 5 who by God’s power are being guarded through faith for a salvation ready to be revealed in the last time.

Observation:

Theses verses are an awesome reminder of our condition as Christians. Peter describes the reality that God has caused us to be born again into relationship with Him through the resurrection of Jesus. He also points out that this relationship entitles us to the inheritance of the eternal Kingdom that unlike everything we know on this earth will never diminish or perish. The final thing Peter reminds us of is that God is active in keeping this inheritance ready and prepared for us.

Application:

For me these verses challenge me to remember that this life is just a stop on my way to the eternal Kingdom. The reality is that Heaven is my destination. As I seek Heaven and focus more on Kingdom activities the more my current life with be conformed to the eternal life to come.

Prayer:

Father, thank you for adopting me into the eternal Kingdom. Please help these words by your servant Peter be a reminder to me of where my inheritance lies. Help me be more focused on your plans today and less on my own desires. Thank you Jesus. Amen.

1 thought on “SOAPing the New Testament–1 Peter 1

  1. So I read this earlier today and must admit I didn’t read it with my heart just my eyes. Wow! I love the words in verse 4…imperishable, undefiled and unfading!! Then as I read your comments this really hit home for me. We are aliens here on earth. We are not permanent residents. Praise the Lord! It reminded me of a chorus we used to sing in church when I was a kid, “This World is not my Home”. It said this world is not my home, I’m just a passin through. I don’t remember the rest but this is all I needed. Thanks for the post today brother. Even if it did take me all day to really get it:)

Leave a comment