SOAPing the New Testament – 1 Peter 2

Scripture:

23 When he was reviled, he did not revile in return; when he suffered, he did not threaten, but continued entrusting himself to him who judges justly.

Observation:

This scripture lays out a key concept for the Christian life that I struggle with the most. The idea is that we should never return evil for evil or even hurt for hurt. Peter is teaching us that we should trust God to right the wrongs we experience. It’s a call to dependency on the Father that we have seen all through the life and ministry of Jesus.

Application:

For me I think verses like these remind me that no matter what happens God has my back. My priority is to be as good and honorable and Holy as possible and let God sort out the rest. My first obligation should never be to establish justice or equity between myself and another but instead should be a dependency on God, knowing that He perfectly executes justice and equity according to His nature and will. I have to be reminded often but the reality is I just need to love and serve and let the Father take care of me. It’s a struggle.

Prayer:

Heavenly Father, thank you God for your protection and your justice. Forgive me where I have returned evil for evil and hurt for hurt. Forgive me where I have tried to be self-dependent rather than dependent on you. I pray for your peace and protection today. In Jesus name. Amen.

Leave a Reply

