SOAPing the New Testament–1 Peter 3

Scripture:

18 For Christ also suffered once for sins, the righteous for the unrighteous, that he might bring us to God, being put to death in the flesh but made alive in the spirit

Observation:

This verse is a distillation of the Gospel. It conveys the reality that Jesus’ mission was to come and set right the division between God and humanity. Peter reminds us that this was an extraordinary thing that Jesus did in that Jesus was righteous and undeserving of God’s punishment yet he suffered to remove the penalty of sin from those who deserved it, the unrighteous, us. He also eludes to the new life in the Spirit that was established in Jesus.

Application:

For me this verse challenges me to be mindful of where I came from and to honor what Jesus did to reconcile me to God. I think often times I rest in the fact that I am saved and I neglect to honor the Lord and the work He has done for humanity. I feel like I need to work on continually submitting to the Spirit and allow Him to guide me more.

Prayer:

Heavenly Father, thank you for sending your Son to take my penalty on Himself so that I may reconciled back to you. Forgive me where I have failed to show appreciation and honor for that sacrifice. Lord Jesus, thank you for your earthly ministry and your human incarnation. Thank you for modeling what it means to live and to sacrifice for the sake of others. I pray that I would follow your example today. I offer you praise. In your name, Amen.

2 thoughts on “SOAPing the New Testament–1 Peter 3

Leave a Reply

