What is the Priority?

Matthew 8:28 (ESV)

28 And do not fear those who kill the body but cannot kill the soul. Rather fear him who can destroy both soul and body in hell.

Most days when I wake up I either physically or mentally create a list of things I need to get done. On work days the list is usually focused on the various projects or purchases while my at home list usually includes chores and household projects that I need to tend to. Thinking about my todo lists, I can honestly say I rarely list out spiritual todos. I am always mindful that I need to spend time in the Word and prayer but rarely do I list those things down or mentally include them in the daily list. As I was working through today’s scripture it hit me that I may be approaching my days in the wrong way.

In Matthew 8:28, Jesus is teaching us about fear of man. He is reminding us that we should be more worried about how we stand with God than how we stand with man. It seems to me that He is challenging us to be more focused on our eternal existence than our physical existence. It seems that if this focus on the eternal exists in determining priority between fearing man and fearing God, then this focus should exist when figuring out what my daily priorities are also.

It would be easy to say right now, “well every thing I do I do unto the Lord, therefore my priorities are strait”, but to me it seems like a statement like this give little heed to Jesus’ command to fear God. I think we have to strive to make focused and deliberate efforts to make priority of the eternal elements of our days opposed to focusing on merely the physical and the mundane. I think we have to look at our todo list and while understanding that we do all these things we do unto the Lord we have to also understand what that means in each task. We have to ask how am I honoring God and His Kingdom in everything I do. How am I putting my spiritual existence into the forefront of my physical existence?

I’m not sure what the answers are. I think this ideal of priority is key for me. In the IT field we use logical priority often to determine which application or computing device receives the most resources in a system. I think a first step for me will be to try and understand better how eternity intersects each aspect of my physical existence. I think as I am more mindful of my eternal position I will be more likely to make it a priority.

Heavenly Father, thank you for your Word and the access you have granted us to approach you with this prayer. Father restore in us a fear of you that would emphasis the priority of the eternal over the physical. Remind us that this life will pass away for all of us and that we will eternally be with you. Remind us that we are not bound to only focus on this life, but that you have challenged us to focus on our eternal life.  Father thank you for your many blessings. We offer you praise. In Jesus name. Amen.

Leave a Reply

