American Christians are Soft and Weak

I had a history professor named Thomas Code. Professor Code was what I considered a hard man with a stern disposition. I took two classes from him in the early 1990s and I still think about a couple things he said. The first was that he challenged us as students to realize that college was one of the few things we paid more for and hope to get less out of. He used as an example how most folks were quite excited for classes to let out early. Another thing he said concerned the state of the American culture. He said we had all gotten soft and lost “the fire in the belly” we once had. Essentially, he was saying that in our current comfort and affluence we had become apathetic and complacent, more apt to obsess over our stuff and our status than champion a cause.

We had a guest speaker in church yesterday. He is a missionary that our fellowship has sent to work in Azerbaijan. He gave a great talk about what it means to be on the front line for the Gospel and He reminded us that there is a spiritual battle waging daily in the world. He used the Paul’s letter to the church in Philippi to challenge us to unity and to demonstrate how as Christians we are all soldiers with a mission to accomplish in God’s eternal plan. As I listened to the man challenge us I could hear Professor Code. We are soft. I am more concerned with my my job, my stuff, and what my next great tasting meal is going be than taking a stand for God’s advancing Kingdom. The missionary broke down at one point, sobbing over a lost opportunity to share the Gospel with a neighbor who suddenly died. It was foreign to me.

I know this post makes a blanket statement about American Christianity. I recognize that there are American Christians that are fully engaged in the battle, so forgive me if I have offended, but from my experience there are more folks filling the pews giving lip service to their commitment to Jesus and his Kingdom than actual warriors standing firm and taking a stand for the Gospel. I recognize them because I am one.

So what do we do? Do we even care?

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “American Christians are Soft and Weak

  1. What do we do? Do we even care?

    I’m always wondering what else I can do. I don’t ever want to get to comfortable, but I’m afraid I probably am.

    We has a good discussion in SS class yesterday morning along these same lines. The prophet Jeremiah was rejected by absolutely everyone including his family because they didn’t like the message God had given him.

    The bottom line is if we’re delivering the message of the Gospel a lot of people aren’t gonna like it or us. We need to be like the apostle Paul when he said, “I am not ashamed of the Gospel of Jesus Christ…”

    I know I need to be better at taking my stand. Be more concerned about the Kingdom and less concerned about me.

    Thanks for the post brother!

  2. Great post. Challenging and pertinent for our context here in America. I know I struggle with the same thing, but I do know I have a desire to share the gospel with all I come in contact with. However, I often let my own desire to be comfortable overrule my desire to share. I believe the first thing we must do to overcome this is to understand our desires are at work here. What I mean is that we desire something else more than making God’s name famous. Second, we have to ask God to change those desires in us through the work of the Holy Spirit.

  3. standing (although I should be kneeling) guilty as charged. I fear we will be held more accountable than we like to think. thanks for faithful and true words, friend

  4. I think you could have left “American” out of your title! As a South African Christian you will find the same here in my country. It is sad that so many profess to “follow” Jesus Christ and yet are more concerned with their comfort and stuff. The idea of sharing the gospel or taking it anywhere for many seems to belong in the realm of “for the radicals only.”

Leave a Reply

